My First Sakura Kanzashi

My First Sakura Kanzashi

Originally uploaded by Random CatGirl

I finally seriously attempted to make a sakura kanzashi. Nothing before was working; The petal crimp wouldn’t stay. So… I decided to starch the devil out of the fabric. I think ninjas could use it to make throwing stars now, the fabric’s so stiff.

I’ve been meaning to use that fabric for quite a while for a kanzashi and it turned out just like I planned! It’s just as funky and I’d imagined and that’s what I want to achieve. With my kanzashi I want to make a more hip and modern version of the traditional art. At the same time I’d be able to spread the word about it so the process won’t die out. It’s too lovely to be allowed to die.

I’m going to see if I can make a larger arrangement of sakuras, maybe with this fabric, maybe another. We’ll see.

2 Comments

Filed under kanzashi

2 responses to “My First Sakura Kanzashi

  1. I love this and love how that fabric works for this. Thanks for visiting my blog!

  2. randomcatgirl

    You’re quite welcome, Anna. Thanks for stopping by my blog as well.

Leave a Reply

