Today is a pizza day.

It’s raining and I’m tired. Time to call Pizza Hut.

I learned today that the traditional kanzashi for August is pampas grass. I guess I shouldn’t be making things like this. Heh- heh.:

It’s the first kanzashi that I’ve made with silk. I love how it turned out, but goodness was it hard to work with. It didn’t seem to want to keep its shape. I think I’ll have to invest in some potato or rice starch for these fabrics.

I actually used muslin for the extra petals and the tiny flower on the end. I liked how it looks, very natural. I’ve learned that it mustn’t be handled too much or you’ll get little tiny “hairs.”

Aaaand I finally get to use up those funky little pearls that I’ve kept all these years.

I really like my take on kanzashi. So far people have loved them in my neighborhood. Oh! And I’ve actually sold a pair to someone in France! My work is international now. ^_^ hee-hee!

2 Comments

Filed under kanzashi, life

2 responses to “Today is a pizza day.

  1. We had pizza night last night! These are amazing! I can’t wait to see pictures of the sushi bag.

  2. randomcatgirl

    Heh, I’ve gotten carried away with the sushi fabric. Now I’m making two bags (messenger bag and tote) and may make something else small.

Leave a Reply

