On A Shoestring – Product Tags

*On A Shoestring is going to be a series of articles that focus on branding and marketing yourself on a low, low budget. These are just ideas and things I’ve learned since I’ve started up my business. I started up with enough capital for my materials, but have learned some neat ways to skirt around the high costs of labels, custom business cards and such. I hope these articles help someone.*

Hang tags (product tags, what have you) are a quick way to not only brand your items, but give a little more information about the item as well. They can be as simple as a smaller copy of your business card or a two sided deal like mine. Mine are made with cardstock. I just print them from my computer and then cut them down to size.

There are a number of things to include on the information on the tags. First of all the name of your company/logo. (But we already knew that, didn’t we? ^_^) Secondly, your website address should be on there somewhere. If you don’t have a website for your business in this day and age, you’re doing yourself a disservice. There are many places that you can get a free website and many others that you can get an online store for a nominal fee. And please get a website address that people can remember!

After your company name and website the rest of the information that you want to include is up to you. This is an easy place to place your pricing.  If you’re making clothing  or other fabric items you may want to include type of fabric, care instructions, or even a funny little story. For bath items you could include useful information like possible allergic reactions. I’ve even seen one store recently who’ve made their hang tags into mini catalogs. I….. don’t think I’ll be doing that. ^_^

For inspiration take a trip to the mall and look at some of the major stores to see their tags.

If anyone would like a template for tags the size of mine (1  5/16″x 3  1/16″) just make a comment here and I’ll send it to you. The two templates would be for the front and back.

2 Comments

Filed under On A Shoestring

2 responses to “On A Shoestring – Product Tags

  1. yes! This is exactly what I’m looking for, and I’m all about the budget/shoestring thing.
    can you send me the template?

    awesome!

  2. randomcatgirl

    Sure I can send you the template. Just give me a little while to convert it to a jpeg.

Leave a Reply

