On A Shoestring – Earring Cards

Now, for quite some time I’ve had these plain, black hanging cards for the earrings that I make. Not bad because they’re cheap and they serve their purpose but after establishing my brand they started to not look so nice. It also didn’t help that most of the earrings that I’ve made were far longer than the cards. (Chandelier earrings rule!)

I found many places that offered to make earring cards for you, customized and everything, but they charged a fortune! So like for so many things in my business I turned my computer on and got down to making them.

First of all, yes I do have Photoshop and Illustrator, but you don’t have to be a designer to put them together. You could even make them in Microsoft Word or another program. All you need is a business card template and the ability to think vertically. To make it even easier, you can use the pre-scored business card paper so that you wouldn’t have to worry about cutting anything straight.

Things to remember: Keep the information on there to a minimum. You want your lovely earrings to stand out and not get lost in all the background. Your company name/logo and website is plenty. If you’re bold enough, you could put a little more information on the back of the card such as a cute story or your motto. And remember to mark where you’ll be putting the holes for the earrings!

Here is how my cards turned out:

While they’re still not long enough for just a few of my earrings, I don’t have the problem of nearlly 3″ of dangle hanging off. I also get to make sure that they are the exact color that I need and I don’t have to commit to several hundred of them at one time.

Back to work!

2 Comments

Filed under On A Shoestring

2 responses to “On A Shoestring – Earring Cards

  1. Those cards look great! I agree, vertical business cards are the perfect size.

  2. randomcatgirl

    I didn’t even intend to make them business card sized. It was actually a happy accident!

Leave a Reply

