Going Gothic – a walkthrough

Remember my first butterfly? (Check a few posts back.) Well now, Mr. Butterfly has a lot of company.

Gothic Lolita Kanzashi 1

Gothic Lolita Kanzashi 1

I first added him to a nice little bell flower. BTW, the entire piece is made of black and purple silk. This flower is HUGE! I made it from 3″ squares and measures just under 3″ across.

Next, a few more flowers were added to the kanzashi. They’re only about 1 1/2″ across. Since I made the original butterfly’s body out of Swarovski crystals, I decided to use crystals as the center pieces of the Gothic Lolita Kanzashi 2smaller flowers too. You can see in the next picture that Mr. Butterfly has a little friend. ^_^

Since I had just one of the japanese silver colored prongs left, I figured what the heck and used that for the base.

From this point there were a few tiny little 1″ butterflies that had to be constructed. What a learning experience that was! With such small butterflies I had to use smaller crystals as their bodies. I’m talking teeny, tiny 4mm crystals. They didn’t want to glue together and then I realized that the opening wasn’t big enough for both antanae to fit in. It took some creative experiemnting to get those together.

Into the Night Kanzashi - right sideAfter several days, it’s finally done. It’s my most intricate kanzashi to date with four flowers and four butterflies. I’m ecstatic about how it turned out. I learned a lot on the way and even picked up some new techniques. I ended up with a lot of glue on my hands, but I was so worth it. I hope this one goes home with a very happy lolita girl. Maybe I’ll see it at a con one day. Now that would be neat.

Of course you can check this out at my Etsy Shop if you’d like to buy it. wink,wink.

Into the Night Kanzashi- left side

1 Comment

Filed under kanzashi

One response to “Going Gothic – a walkthrough

  1. Nice blog. Enjoyed going through it. Keep it up the good work. Cheers 🙂

Leave a Reply

