Practice Makes Perfect

I’ve gotten back to sewing. It felt so good working with fabric in a different way. A non intricate way. And breaking out the sewing machine was delightful. On the other hand, when I blew off the fine layer of dust that had accumulated, I’ll admit, I was a bit ashamed. Had it really been so long since I’d sewn? Nah, can’t have been. I sewed up a new tote just last….

Oh.

Well, nevermind that. It was time to start that little engine up again. So, I’m sewing. (Gosh, I’ve gotten slow!) This is looking to be the best tote I’ve made in a while. My color coordination is getting better. And I’ve found a great new interfacing. Everything’s working well and in good time I’m almost through. Then something starts bothering me. There’s this nagging feeling that I’m forgetting something.

Oh well. Moving on. Stitch, stitch, stitch. I’m through! And realize that the tote won’t close. (HUH?) There’s no clasp. And the bag is completely sewn.

&#$%@#! My seam ripper and I got to know each other intimately for the next half an hour.

The moral of this story: Never let your skills get rusty, and if they do, apply oil first.

Leave a comment

Filed under life, sewing

Leave a Reply

